Monday, January 6, 2014

Mailbox Monday - January 6


Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

Here is what I received this week:


James Study Guide

Deepening Life Together video Bible studies guide small groups into a deeper understanding of the Bible, and a deeper relationship with God and others. Each DVD features inspirational teaching by trusted scholars and pastors edited with engaging graphics and footage from the Jesus film. The study guides are based on the Five Biblical Purposes and enhance fellowship, discipleship, ministry, evangelism, and worship.

Each guide includes leader notes, discussion questions, daily reflections, and personal assessments to chart and track spiritual growth. Deepening Life Together is a great church resource and includes built-in leader training. With leader notes and video coaching for each session, the curriculum is perfect for new or experienced leaders. Lifetogether has sold more than 2.5 million copies of its award-winning studies for small groups, taking groups deeper into the Bible and providing proven techniques to start and sustain a small group.

 Kindle freebies 


Practical, insightful and relatable 250 page in depth devotional study with great personal stories. Each day is short enough to be able to read and have time to process the personal application questions. It can be used in conjunction with the discussion guide (at www.TheBookofJudges.com) or as a stand alone devotional.


This comic romance is a tasty morsel for the holidays to make even the truest cynic believe in love again.

Christmas is a time of togetherness, celebrations, family and love. But for Heather it is a time for second guessing and false hope. Fearing for her still young marriage and feeling abandoned in a time of great emotional need, she has pinned all her hopes on a Christmas present--a small gesture with great meaning--to renew her faltering relationship.

As her husband, Derek, an intern, spends long hours and late nights in the emergency room saving lives, Heather diligently and lovingly teaches her kindergarten class and wonders if her marriage is slowly, imperceptibly, slipping away. As Christmas approaches, she remembers the joy and the closeness she and her husband shared in holidays past, and grapples with her options for reigniting the spark they once shared. But did she get it all wrong when she decided that a mere sweet pastry from the hottest bakery in town was the answer to all her woes? Could it be that simple?

And how could a poodle skirt, a princess and bouncer help?

When all is said and done, Derek and Heather will come to know the regenerative power of love and Christmas, as the very best Christmas present ever touches both their lives and leaves their lives forever changed.



Point Pleasant. Virginia. 1859

A slave revolt is spreading across across the land.

Amid fears of terrible bloodshed, the gentleman farmer Mr Underwood is promoted to the position of Supervisor.

After a tense confrontation, the town is kept safe.

But on the ride home, an escaped slave lands Mr Underwood in a whole lot of trouble.

And suddenly he is embroiled in a bitter and bloody feud between the North and South, the Confederates and the Unionists.

As the two sides battle over Virginia, Mr Underwood is caught up in a dangerous struggle for control of the State.

And when he meets a beautiful widow, it is not just the State that is divided - it is Underwood's heart that is at stake as well as must choose between the beguiling Ariadne and his shrewish wife.

The Secessionist is a fast-paced, brilliantly researched historical novel that is sure to have you on edge of your seat from the first to the last page.

It is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Charles Frazier.

"A wonderful book combining detailed research and fast-moving story-telling." - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of Trade Off.


In spite of having to recover from serious injuries from her fall down a cliff with O'nan, Josiah Reynolds is back to sleuthing. This time her friend, Irene Meckler, asks Josiah to investigate the death of her nephew which was ruled accidental. Irene has her doubts.

Along with her best friend Matt, and Jake Dosh, a physician assistant hired by Josiah's daughter, Josiah again makes the rounds of quirky characters that can only be found in the mysterious world of antebellum homes, bourbon and horse racing of Kentucky's Bluegrass region.

11 comments:

Vicki said...

Looks like you've got some really good reading coming up!

readingdate said...

Enjoy your new books and have a great week!

Mary (Bookfan) said...

The Christmas book sounds cute. Have a good week!

Vanessa Morgan said...

Lots of good books to look forward to. have a lovely Monday.

bermudaonion said...

I hope you love your new books!

DeniseF said...

Great haul! Happy reading!

Cheryl said...

Thanks for the comments, everyone. I appreciate you stopping by.

Yvonne@fiction-books said...

Hi Cheryl,

Thanks for stopping by Fiction Books today, I love 'meeting' new people.

You have a couple of books which caught my eye and have been added to my own reading list.

Abigail Keam is definitely a new to me author who I am keen to try. I am not a huge fan of the 'cozy' mystery, but this sounds like a good series.

'The Secessionist' is a 'must read'. A powerful and emotionally charged storyline and some great characters, what's not to like?

Thanks for sharing your new finds and have a great week,

Yvonne

Elizabeth said...

The Secessionest looks too scary. :)

Death By Drowning seems more my speed...a cozy mystery??

Elizabeth
Silver's Reviews
My Mailbox Monday

Patty Woodland said...

Busy mailbox! Enjoy your reads

gautami tripathy said...

Interesting books!

Have a great mailbox each week, in 2014!

Here is my post