Monday, September 8, 2014

Mailbox Monday - September 8

Mailbox Monday is a meme started by Marcia of To Be Continued. Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. It now has a permanent home at the Mailbox Monday blog.

Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles, and humongous wish lists.

Another busy week gone. I swear, I can barely keep up with the laundry these days. Good thing I still make time for reading almost daily.

This week I received an unsolicited book from Random House. I'm not sure if I'll read it yet. I have so many other books that I already want to read, I might not have time for this one.


For fans of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and A Discovery of Witches comes a brilliantly imagined debut novel brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic.

Revelation “Reve” Dyer grew up with her grandmother’s family stories, stretching back centuries to Reve’s ancestors, who founded the town of Hawley Five Corners, Massachusetts. Their history is steeped in secrets, for few outsiders know that an ancient magic runs in the Dyer women’s blood, and that Reve is a magician whose powers are all too real.

Reve and her husband are world-famous Las Vegas illusionists. They have three lovely young daughters, a beautiful home, and what seems like a charmed life. But Reve’s world is shattered when an intruder alters her trick pistol and she accidentally shoots and kills her beloved husband onstage.

Fearing for her daughters’ lives, Reve flees with them to the place she has always felt safest—an antiquated farmhouse in the forest of Hawley Five Corners, where the magic of her ancestors reigns, and her oldest friend—and first love—is the town’s chief of police. Here, in the forest, with its undeniable air of enchantment, Reve hopes she and her girls will be protected.

Delving into the past for answers, Reve is drawn deeper into her family’s legends. What she discovers is The Hawley Book of the Dead, an ancient leather-bound journal holding mysterious mythic power. As she pieces together the truth behind the book, Reve will have to shield herself and her daughters against an uncertain, increasingly dangerous fate. For soon it becomes clear that the stranger who upended Reve’s life in Las Vegas has followed her to Hawley—and that she has something he desperately wants.

Brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic, The Hawley Book of the Dead is a brilliantly imagined debut novel from a riveting new voice.

The following are Kindle freebies:


Is a ghost haunting the Oceanside Middle School auditorium? What else could explain the disasters surrounding the school play—everything from missing scripts to a falling spotlight and damaged props? All seventh grader Gabby St. Claire has dreamed about is being a part of her school’s musical. But a series of unfortunate events threatens to shut down the whole production. While trying to track down the culprit and save her fifteen minutes of fame, she also has to manage impossible teachers, cliques, her dysfunctional family, and a secret she can’t even tell her best friend. Will Gabby figure out who or what is sabotaging the show . . . or will it be curtains for her and the rest of the cast?


The Civil War has ended, but in Katie Calloway's Georgia home conflict still rages. To protect herself and her young brother from her violent and unstable husband, she flees north, finding anonymity and sanctuary as the cook in a Northwoods lumber camp. The camp owner, Robert Foster, wonders if the lovely woman he's hired has the grit to survive the never-ending work and harsh conditions of a remote pine forest in winter. Katie wonders if she can keep her past a secret from a man she is slowly growing to love.

With grace and skill, Serena Miller brings to life a bygone era. From the ethereal, snowy forest and the warm cookstove to the rowdy shanty boys and the jagged edges of the saw, every detail is perfectly rendered, transporting the reader back to the time when pine was king, men were made of iron, and rivers were choked with logs on the way to the sawmills. Readers will have a hard time leaving the Northwoods when they turn the last page.

What was in your mailbox?

7 comments:

Mary (Bookfan) said...

The Measure of Katie Calloway sounds good!

Creations by Laurel-Rain Snow said...

Those Kindle books are hard to pass up! Enjoy your haul...and here's MY WEEKLY SUNDAY/MONDAY UPDATES POST

bermudaonion said...

It looks like you're in for some good reading!

Serena said...

Happy reading

Elizabeth said...

ENJOY your books.

The Hawley Book of The Dead looks interesting. :)

Have a great reading week.

Giveaway going on at my blog until Thursday for Accidents of Marriage if anyone wants to stop by.

Elizabeth
Silver's Reviews
My Mailbox Monday

Cheryl said...

Thanks for the visits, everyone. Those freebies sure are hard to pass up, Laurel. I'm getting better, but still pick up too many.

Holly (2 Kids and Tired) said...

Katie Calloway is one of my most favorite books ever. Great mailbox this week. Enjoy!
2 Kids and Tired Books MM